Yesterday on Facebook all seemed normal. Got up check some post. Shared some music from Apple Music, couple news links I seen, of course a few memes, and then a link. I shared the link to the trailer of the movie "The Creepy Line." (The Creepy Line Trailer) Closed the app and took a nap and awoke to a friend asking me if I had blocked them on Facebook in text message. Now usually when this happens it means a meme I posted was deemed offensive and I'll be spending sometime in Facebook Jail. However, this time, that was not the case.
This time, upon logging in I was greeted with a notice that said "We have detected suspicious activity on your account. Please submit a photo we will review and then delete after verifying its you." It also said along the lines of didn't even have to be a recent picture of me. So I chose a photo I had just recently shared of myself on Facebook. To which I was then greeted with this lovely message here....
The oddest thing about it all is, now its like my profile never existed. Every comment gone, cannot search my account. Yet when I try to contact the headless Facebook support center for a disabled account it says my account is not disabled.
Also while all of this is going on I am still getting emails, or changes to groups I am in, jobs posted on Facebook etc.
I went searching my problem into the dreaded google ( as I blog on a google site) and found that this has happened to a ton of people over the years. Usually for using a bogus page or only using it for business.
Thing is it was my real name, I have had this profile almost 10 years. I don't run a business on there. Im just a nobody facebook user who happens to enjoy sweepstakes, social product reviews, memes and music, with a little news here and there of course.
That profile had 4500 people and almost a 1k followers. Not a high number for say a celebrity but I felt like I was doing something. Now I am left wondering did I violate something unknowingly? Is it to shut me up because of the video link? Was it random?
It seems unfair to take 10 years of photos, videos and memories from me without a chance to get them off the site first. Even more so with no one to contact or no clear way to find it if there is.
I can't even log out on the facebook app on my phone, it stays on "confirm your identity: cant connect"
